“Peanuts” and Charlie Brown as Allegory or Parable and Joel Osteen

I never watch It’s the Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown” that I don’t, feel that Charlie Brown’s life, on some level, reflects that of many people – hence, the popularity of “Peanuts.” While (fortunately), we don’t all always fail or fall on our face at home plate, then just lie there until the sun sets and everyone has gone home… most of us have had at least one “I got a rock!” moment, when all around us, it seems everyone else is getting great treats. Lately, my channel surfing habits have found me stopping when I find Joel Osteen – always uplifting and inspirational. Most of the time, his sermons uncannily fit exactly what I’m feeling at the time. So, this past Halloween, as I pondered whether to post on Facebook the picture of poor Charlie Brown, his sack full of rocks, and then proclaim it an allegory for my life (at times), I reconsidered. What might Joel Osteen say about Charlie Brown and sack full of rocks? I think it might go a little something like this: 

I got a rock

“While all around him, Charlie Brown’s friends’ sacks were flling with candy, only Charlie was getting rocks. Sure, at first, he felt cheated. But, let’s look closer. Any flimsy sack can hold handfuls of candy – and soon that candy will be gone. But, only Charlie Brown’s sack was strong enough to hold – not just one – but, an entire BAG full of ROCKS! And long after his friends had eaten their candy, bellies bloated, upset tummies – Why, Charlie Brown would still have his bag of rocks. And who knows, maybe there were some collectible rocks in that bag. At best, he might have some that could be polished and used for collecting or jewelry making. At worst, they could be used for landscaping or paperweights. But, the most important thing is Charlie Brown learned how strong he was – he could carry a bag full of heavy rocks around the neighborhood – he found strength he never knew he had.”

I don’t know – maybe Pastor Osteen would see it that way – maybe not. I just know this is the first year in my decades of feeling sorry for poor Charlie Brown and his, “I GOT A ROCK!” that:  I did not pity him. I admired his strength, and felt confident that when life hands him a bag full of rocks, he will have the strength to carry them, and find a way to put them to good use. You rock, Charlie Brown!

About nancsue

Writer - Former newspaper columnist - lover of all things nostalgic, collies, music, humor, snowy places, & grateful to those who defend American citizens at home and abroad.
This entry was posted in Holidays, religion and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

