Sugar and Spice – Isn’t it the SPICE That Makes A Little Girl A Woman?

According to the old nursery rhyme, little girls are made of “sugar and spice and everything nice.”  The key words here are “sugar AND spice.”  Most females are not just sweet as sugar all the time, nor are we spicy all the time.  And isn’t it that combination that makes a woman exciting? 

I admit – as a woman, maybe I’m not really in the position to determine what makes a woman exciting.  So, let’s address other things:

  •      Chinese food – sweet AND sour.
  •      Coffee – Somewhat bitter – what do we do?  Add cream and sugar
  •      Tea – We add lemon to make it tart, then sugar to sweeten

I could say it’s just one woman’s opinion (mine) – except, I don’t think I’m alone in believing that people who are just super-sweet all the time are a little bit – uh, boring.

My daughter’s example is “GONE WITH THE WIND.”  She is quick to point out, “Who is the central figure in this epic – sweet, sappy Melanie or semi-sweet, spitfire Scarlett O’Hara?  Who are all the men after?”

Defense rests.

Many years ago, a relative briefly lived with us, and after a week or so, said to my mother, “Well – I found out Nancy is not always peaches and cream…”  No, Nancy is not always peaches and cream, nor am I always sugar without at least a little spice.

I do have bit of fire.  I would apologize and repent, except for the above argument, and something an old boyfriend once told me.  We had broken up, and he felt comfortable telling me, “I’ve dated some girls who were much sweeter to me than you ever were.  And, I’ve dated some real bitches.  But, none of them were just the right combination like you are.”

I don’t think he intended it as an insult, and I have always chosen to view it as my “Scarlett O’Hara” testimonial.

Likewise, I believe (hope?) that both of my children would say I was a fun, sweet, compassionate mother.  But, the thing they both brag about after so many years is the time my son (then about 6) wouldn’t get out of the pool when I was calling him in.  I had already told him a couple of times to get out.  Not only did he remain in the pool, but swam a bit farther to the center.  That was it.  Fully dressed in jeans, sweater, shoes and socks, I walked into the pool, straight to where he was, and snatched him right out.  We never had that “problem” again, and truly – to this day, my kids brag about their mom not taking any *stuff.*

All in all, it’s my belief that some little girls (and grown women) – certainly, the STEEL MAGNOLIAS, and the ones who survive may even have some of those “snips and snails and puppy dog tails” that little boys are so famous for.

About nancsue

Writer - Former newspaper columnist - lover of all things nostalgic, collies, music, humor, snowy places, & grateful to those who defend American citizens at home and abroad.
This entry was posted in cultural history, Humor, movies, women and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sugar and Spice – Isn’t it the SPICE That Makes A Little Girl A Woman?

  1. Steve Gandy says:

    Your writing is great as always !

Leave a Reply

