That “Generation Gap” I Discovered as a teen goes on – in reverse

Fully expecting and prepared to enjoy a relaxing afternoon in the relatively luxurious waiting room of my BMW dealership, took the day off to take my car in for a couple of minor things.
Turns out, one of those minor things requires re-programming. So, I was directed to the “loaner” area.

The 14-year-old at the counter (I exaggerate. He might have been all of 22) asked for a credit card that will be refunded upon return of the car. I joked, “That ensures I don’t leave the country with your car – right?”
He looked up from his paperwork – silent stare, then, “Yes, and other things.”
He never cracked a smile. I’m sure he thought I was serious.
Oh, boy… My rule is if I have to say, “I was just kidding” – it’s time to just shut up, and try to be the “straight man,” for once in my life.

Fast forward to the “walk around” of the loaner.
The kid asked, “Have you driven one of these newer models?”
ONE OF THESE NEWER MODELS?
It’s not like I was taking in a MODEL T. My 335i is a 2012, for cryin’ out loud.
It’s twin turbo, has bluetooth, reads my text messages to me, I can watch a dvd. I can store entire music cds in it, so I don’t have to carry a case of cds in the car.
But, I digress.
What I heard the kid say was, “Can you drive a new car, you old codger ?”
And what I fantasized as my response was, “Can YOU drive a stick shift, you little twerp? Have you ever checked your oil with a dipstick, you little dipstick?
Can you open a car door with an actual KEY? Can you turn on a television without a remote control?”
But, I didn’t
Didn’t have to – I knew I could come home and blog it.
Thank you.
I feel better now.

Now, for the proverbial “call to action:”
If you liked this piece, please click “Like,” leave a comment, “Follow” my blog, better yet, share the link with friends, family, or colleagues you think would enjoy it. It’s the only way a writer can gather an audience.
Thanks very much!
Nancy

About nancsue

Writer - Former newspaper columnist - lover of all things nostalgic, collies, music, humor, snowy places, & grateful to those who defend American citizens at home and abroad.
This entry was posted in Adulthood, Baby Boomers, Generation gap and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

