Sleeping in My Clothes

As a child, prior to a roadtrip, I just slept in my clothes, atop my bed. My stepfather was a stickler for hitting the road at 4 AM. So, I was ready, and simply had to move from my bed to the backseat of the car.

Now, when I sleep in my clothes, atop my bed, it’s because I feel too sad; not worthy of the rituals that prepare one for the luxury of climbing into soft, comforting covers.
It is but a mood that will pass. I always find hope in that passage from the movie “CASTAWAY,” when Tom Hanks’ character explained how he was able to just keep going:

“Even though there was no reason to hope… So, that’s what I did. I stayed alive. I kept breathing. And one day, my logic was proven all wrong. Because, the tide came in, and gave me a sail… And I know what I have to do now. I gotta keep breathing. Because, tomorrow the sun will rise. Who knows what the tide could bring?”

20140425-065723.jpg

Now, for the proverbial “call to action:”
If you liked this piece, please click “Like,” leave a comment, “Follow” my blog, better yet, share the link with friends, family, or colleagues you think would enjoy it. It’s the only way a writer can gather an audience.
Thanks very much!
Nancy

About nancsue

Writer - Former newspaper columnist - lover of all things nostalgic, collies, music, humor, snowy places, & grateful to those who defend American citizens at home and abroad.
This entry was posted in Depression, movies and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

