I Coulda Been Somebody! (But, really -what are the odds?)

Before I begin, let me confess. I am as guilty (perhaps more so) as the next person about believing I was “somebody” in a past life. My first thought was a conviction I must have been Van Gogh. My alternatives of choice were one of the Bronte sisters or Hank Williams (not Bocephus) – the real Hank “I’m So Lonesome I Could CryWilliams.
I know a guy who believes he was probably Einstein. He is brilliant, and if anybody could have been The genius Albert, it would likely be this guy.

Throughout my life, I have noted that those people who even entertain the possibility of some sort of reincarnation, inevitably believe they were someone great, powerful, or at the very least, notorious. (Seriously, I bet you know of someone who believes he was Jessie James or Doc Holliday.)

So, this is nothing new. It does, however, seem to be escalating. Now there are quizzes all over the Internet to identify which President you were, which famous gunslinger, which First Lady… The list goes on.

Let’s face it. Even if reincarnation is real, it is mathematically impossible that we were all some great person. There are only so many great artists, scientists, war heroes, or even criminals. For the most part, from the genesis of humanity as we know it, most people are just, well, people . We almost literally live the movie Groundhog Day – get up, go to work, retrace our steps at the end of the day, eat something, go to bed, then start all over again. Life is somewhat like the directions on the shampoo bottle: Wake, work, eat. Repeat as necessary.”

Yet, it is doubtful any of those Internet quizzes, after you answer its series of questions, will ever render this answer: “You were the town drunk.” Or: “You were Joe Schmoe. You worked 6 days a week in a sweatshop, and in your spare time wrote short stories that no one read.”
Most of us have to fantasize that somewhere, in some lifetime, we were “somebody” other than a number in the government database.

Few are as fortunate as I, to have been both Vincent Van Gogh and Hank Williams. (Big wink!)

20141123-181129.jpg

Now, for the proverbial “call to action:”
If you liked this piece, please click “Like,” leave a comment, “Follow” my blog, better yet, share the link with friends, family, or colleagues you think would enjoy it. It’s the only way a writer can gather an audience.
Thanks very much!
Nancy

About nancsue

Writer - Former newspaper columnist - lover of all things nostalgic, collies, music, humor, snowy places, & grateful to those who defend American citizens at home and abroad.
This entry was posted in celebrities, cultural history, Growing up, Humor, pop culture and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I Coulda Been Somebody! (But, really -what are the odds?)

  1. raissadell says:

    I wonder who i am!! šŸ˜€

  2. Ron Smith says:

    I could hear Hank Williams sing “Vincent.”

  3. http://www.itsallfromthelight.com Everyone is someone and all people are important. Thanks for talking about this!!

  4. dallaspf says:

    Very interesting thought. That rules out a lot of greats I could of been:( Maybe a bird of another species. I would of guessed you as a great American Literature author before Van Gogh. I haven’t noticed an ear missing. Wonderful read as always:)

Leave a Reply

