As Tears (and time) Go By

It seems everyone I know has admitted that with age, they have become more emotional. And I’m not just talking about middle-aged women. Men have made this confession – including my own son. In fact, it was my son who recently shared his take on why this happens. He said (like most all young people), he used to believe he was invincible – not only would he live forever, but everyone and everything in his life would just always be there. By age 30, he realized things change. All of his grandparents have passed, and last year, his beloved German Shepherd died – much too young. The inevitable reality check occurred:

  • Friends move away.
  • People and pets die.
  • The price of gas goes up.
  • Cable providers drop your favorite channels

In other words, nothing stays the same. My son at least had a theory for his heightened emotions. My older friends, however, simply confess that with age, they have become more emotional – tending to cry:

  • When they’re sad
  • When they’re happy
  • About a television commercial.

It’s as if everyone over age 40-ish (regardless of gender), suddenly develops a case of perpetual PMS. When I was younger, I rarely cried (especially in front of people). Yet, I must reluctantly admit to the aforementioned escalated emotion syndrome.

Here’s the irony. Typically, toddlers and young children cry for attention. They will squeeze every ounce of bodily moisture to form even a single crocodile tear for sympathy. Conversely, adults will exert and direct all that same physical energy (to the point of constipation) into holding back those tears. We will do anything to keep that teardrop from falling,  We are mortified if it even casts the incriminating moist glaze over our cornea.

And so endeth my thesis and theory of the cycle of weeping: From forcing it for attention, to inhibiting for the appearance of strength and self control.

boy tears         girl tears

Now, for the proverbial “call to action:”
If you liked this piece, please click “Like,” leave a comment, “Follow” my blog, better yet, share the link with friends, family, or colleagues you think would enjoy it. It’s the only way a writer can gather an audience.
Thanks very much!
Nancy

About nancsue

Writer - Former newspaper columnist - lover of all things nostalgic, collies, music, humor, snowy places, & grateful to those who defend American citizens at home and abroad.
This entry was posted in Adulthood, Growing up, Humor and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to As Tears (and time) Go By

  1. David says:

    I read it, very inspiring mom!

  2. Lee says:

    I miss seeing our poetry.

  3. nancsue says:

    Thank you for stopping by my blog on WordPress. My runwiththewolves.com website was removed last summer. Seems the host company in Rockwall, TX lost their programmer, and my site was created & maintained with MS Frontpage, which has been discontinued. No one can host a website with that platform. I was heartbroken, having had that site since 1998, all my own original poetry, blogs, articles, even the graphics. I hope to have it rebuilt & hosted by another company – someday. It was very special to me.

  4. Denny Kinnaman says:

    Your son is wise beyond his years, with help from you and things that have happened in his life, that’s a good thing. It takes some of us a lot longer to realize that life doesn’t always go the way we think or have planned out. My life has changed very much the last 18 years, no less growing older. It makes you more emotional and sensitive, how you live your life and what is important to you! Thank you for your blog, very good. Denny

  5. Jenn says:

    Nostalgia gains an important place for those of us who are struggling with this era of our lives. I long to be able to bundle up the good times, the laughter with friends who so made my life so fulfilling. Sometimes I feel as though I am on the Titanic with all those souls who touched my life. Some are deceased; some far away. We see the iceberg and know our time together is short…and then Celine Dion appears and her song fades.

  6. Franny says:

    Great blog Nance! Rings true! I am quite the sap these days.
    Love,
    Franny

  7. Steve Gandy says:

    I have to admit I was almost in tears when I saw the Arby’s sandwich at the end of your column, watching your calories for the bike really stinks at times, and by the way the article was great as usual.

Leave a Reply

