National Chicken Fried Steak Day (chicken or steak?) Blog Redux

October 26 has been designated “CHICKEN FRIED STEAK DAY.” One year, it fell on a Sunday, which only interfered with traditional football fare (wings, chili, chips, dip).

I was not born in Texas. So, when I first heard of this somewhat Southern (with a heavy leaning toward Texan) dish, it was completely foreign to me. I could never master the cooking of it, because I was not exactly sure how it was supposed to taste.

Still, I thought it was just me. Then, a few years ago, the mystery shopping company for which I used to work acquired some GRANDY’s franchises in northern Indiana. When attempting to schedule the shops to mystery shoppers, I was often asked, “What the heck is chicken fried steak?” Only then did I realize I was not alone. Others wanted to know: “Is it chicken? Or is it steak?”
  Clearly, they were asking this born-in-Syracuse-came-to-Texas-by-way-of-Kentucky woman a question I was not qualified to answer. Yet, I attempted: “I believe it is a ground beef patty breaded and fried like chicken.” The most common response to that was: “Why?” It was as if these mid-westerners were demanding a more definite decision. Do you want a hamburger? Or do you want fried chicken?

Because I completely understood their position, I was left with only one defense: “It could be considered the best of both worlds (beef meets chicken – except with no chicken), and the gravy is really good.” Besides, when smothered in all that gravy, the type of meat becomes more of a moot than a meat point.

To this day, I stand by that conclusion/opinion about this very popular, albeit region-centric delicacy.

Now, for the proverbial “call to action:”

If you liked this piece, please click “Like,” leave a comment, “Follow” my blog, – better yet, share the link with friends, family, or colleagues you think would enjoy it. It’s the only way a writer can gather an audience. Thanks very much! Nancy 🌹

About nancsue

Writer - Former newspaper columnist - lover of all things nostalgic, collies, music, humor, snowy places, & grateful to those who defend American citizens at home and abroad.
This entry was posted in americana, Food, Humor, pop culture, Texas and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

