Loving Blindly, Like Katie Morosky in “The Way We Were”

Redford’s character (Hubbell) said to Streisand’s in THE WAY WE WERE: “When you love someone, from Roosevelt to me, you go deaf, dumb and blind.”
Like Streisand’s Katie Morosky, I also do that. From the Beatles to collies, I give it my all. When I was a teen, my best friend would offer this heads up to any new prospective boyfriend on my horizon: “If you really want to get in good with Nancy, don’t ever say anything bad about the Beatles or the Kennedys.”

I was reminiscing today about one of my all-time favorite jobs – when I worked in the Office of the late Dallas Mayor Jack W. Evans. Not only was he a good, honorable man, I made a couple of lifelong friendships there.  

According to civil service records, I was a “secretary.” However, I was blessed with an immediate supervisor who believed in matching abilities and talents to the job. So, when she and Mayor Jack learned I could write, my primary responsibilities were writing his speeches, the Mayoral proclamations, and responding to citizens’ correspondence. 

It was one of those rare, wonderful positions one actually looks forward to each morning. I recall telling a friend it was a job I would do for free (if I could afford to be so philanthropic).

Before Mayor Jack left office, when his friend and successor, the late A. Starke Taylor, Jr. was elected, Mayor Jack spoke to each of us fortunate enough to have worked with him. He asked me what I truly loved. Of course, I told him it was writing. I added that I “loved being the person behind the person.” I had truly relished composing the words he shared with others. I was more than a little surprised when the Mayor said to me, “You don’t have to be the person behind the person. Nancy, you can be THE PERSON.” While I deeply appreciated his encouragement, I continued to see myself as writing a script for someone else to present.  

And so, that job, like the Beatles, Kennedys, and collies, falls into the category of something I love in that “deaf, dumb, and blind” way. It was an opportunity for which I shall always be grateful.

Now, for the proverbial “call to action:”

If you liked this piece, please click “Like,” leave a comment, “Follow” my blog, – better yet, share the link with friends, family, or colleagues you think would enjoy it. It’s the only way a writer can gather an audience. Thanks very much! Nancy 🌹

About nancsue

Writer - Former newspaper columnist - lover of all things nostalgic, collies, music, humor, snowy places, & grateful to those who defend American citizens at home and abroad.
This entry was posted in Adulthood, Dallas history, Employment, Government, movies, politics, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Loving Blindly, Like Katie Morosky in “The Way We Were”

  1. Dr. Jennifer Cutrer says:

    Mayor Evans loved your wit and humor and so did Starke Naked!!!! What fun were those days! Is it just me but wasn’t it considerably easier and much more safe to work in the public sector?

    • nancsue says:

      Indeed, good times! You are so right. My guess is we would have to go through a magnetometer each morning nowadays, as we did when we worked the Republican Convention 1984.

  2. Amanda Ricks says:

    Great article. I love the story, the message and ‘bang’ the wonderful and smooth call to action. I just learned something. Thank you, and yes, I will definitely share. 🙂

Leave a Reply

