Right From Wrong – There’s No Shelf Life

Yesterday, in Little Rock, a man crashed his car into a monument of the Ten Commandments – apparently, because he disagrees with those precepts. They may be over 3,000 years old. But, I’m pretty sure there is no expiration date.  I’m also guessing that rules chiseled in stone cannot be edited, and “cut and paste” is not an option.

 I tried to raise my kids with a certain set of values, as I’m sure most of my generation did, as did the generations before us. Unfortunately, when confronted with what we were taught as “right from wrong,” many of the younger ones argue, “It’s the 21st century – not 1967.” True. 

However, just as the Ten Commandments were not written on a magic slate or chalk board, easily erased and modified, I don’t believe the calendar has any effect on right from wrong.  

Your children and grandchildren may want to believe (and to convince you) that certain morals and values are simply not relevant in the 21st century.  

It is only my opinion, but one rooted in faith.  I believe those blueprints for behavior are needed now more than ever.

About nancsue

Former freelance (mostly humor)columnist for Dallas-Ft. Worth area publications - lover of all things nostalgic (especially mid-century), music, humor, and collies.
This entry was posted in Baby Boomers, Generation gap, mid-centurions, news, religion, values and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment